Honeybee

Judging from her wings she has been working hard for her hive. There are few honeybees in my garden at present. Perhaps there are no hives nearby. Most of the land around here is in pasture, rather than crops. The hives are moved to where the nectar is.

This morning I went out early to work in the greenhouse before the sun heated it up. I lifted the woven weed matting floor and tried to remove some of the roots of poplar, lilac, tarragon and twitch. Then I arranged the buckets for the tomatoes. Their cube shape takes up little space. This means I can have a good gap between the front buckets to give easy access to the back row. I planted 3 cucumber plants, but will leave the tomatoes to a cooler day.  A lot of work was left undone when I had to escape the hot sun, but I was able to get on with it in the evening.

Clearing the greenhouse has its little complications. The potted parsley, home to at least one mantis nymph, had to be carefully carried out and later taken back in. A pregnant lizard bolted into a corner and panicked when she found no way out. I carefully placed a small seedling tray over her, leaving an escape route. Then when I lifted the weed matting I found a red tiger worm beneath it. A compost worm! How did it get there? Where did it come from?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.