Warm and Wet

The warm November weather continues. Plus 8°C today, windy, and raining. I reluctantly donned wellies, waterproof trousers and jacket and took Rusty the dog out for the pre-breakfast walk. I had a cup of coffee with me in a thermos mug.
Once I was outside it was actually fine. The rain stayed on the outside, my warmth stayed on the inside, and at our three vantage points, where we get to look over the world, I drank my coffee.
Later in the day it was time for the long walk. We walked down to the (ex) beaver stream (you can see an abandoned beaver lodge on the left of the stream) and crossed on the bridge. The stream is in full flood as almost all the snow has melted + the rain pouring out of the sky.
We walked along on the left of this stream and Rusty was very interested in the deer tracks along the stream. In fact he was so interested I never did let him off the lead. I'm fairly sure if he saw a deer he'd take off after it and totally ignore me. By the time he got tired he'd be a couple of kilometers away and I doubt he could find his way back! 
By the time we got home from our 6 km walk it was dark but there's enough snow that it isn't really dark if your eyes have been steadily adjusting.
A surprisingly nice day in the end, despite the atrocious weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.