earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Imaginary Friend

Having not missed taking a portrait of someone every day for over three and a half years now, there is quite a driver to keep the sequence going. And there needs to be such a motivation. Although it is often easy enough, there have been occasions recently in Shipley when I've found it very hard. A natural opening line just has not come to me. Or people have not been very approachable, huddled up against the elements. I have only the one shot at lunchtime too. It's all too rushed and gloomy in the morning, and outright dark in the evening.

I liken it sometimes to taking a high dive into water. It's not good to stare down and think too much about it. You just have to take the plunge. And it feels just like that. Without any thought, I just find myself walking up to someone and opening my mouth, no idea as to what is going to come out, simply trusting to the knowledge that I've not drowned yet!

I thought today was going to be another struggle with myself, my head not being in the right place, but it was easy as it turned out. I was even being asked to take photographs. Clive here looked like he'd just walked off the set of Northern Exposure, straight out of Alaska. I found it hard to believe that his imaginary friend didn't like me. I told him that everyone likes me, but he was having none of it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.