Kegs Kwikpics.

By Kegrow

San Remo Jetty.

Kaye and I had a late afternoon drive over to San Remo to hunt blips. The sky was overcast and grey and I was not very confident I would acquire a decent blip. Wandered around shooting for awhile along with a busload of tourists. The tide was racing out of Westernport Bay, unfortunately still to high to get on the sand/mud flats. I was walking around, on the jetty and there was a break in the clouds and the sun came pouring through in this one spot, highlighting the fishing boat in front of me. All of a sudden I had 20-30 potentially very good photographs :))
I really like this image, although I am not to keen on the Phillip Island/San Remo bridge in the background. Perhaps it adds to the photograph in some respects, giving the composition an additional element, and perhaps increasing its complexity.
I do like the manner in which the boat is highlighted (very slight vignette also) by the deep green of the water and the greyed purples and blues of the sky.
It strange really, and its the same with my painting - one minute there is nothing, and the next there is something that has happened, a creation that didn't exist previously. My painting evolves from the subconscious, pretty much from nothing, very Zen actually, and is different in a lot of respects from photography, where one has to work with what one captures at a point in time. The joy from creating using both processes, creating something in line with ones personal aesthetic, is so very wonderful and rewarding though.

Bigger verions here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.