Makes you think

Today has been a bit special for me. I did my first Levada walk since having my new hip last autumn. A year ago, I would not have believed that I would be able to manage one so soon.

Levada walks are guided hikes along the medieval water channels through gorgeous countryside with flowers and agriculture that are the envy of the world. Edgar, our guide, was pointing out the different plants and trees on the way.

I chose an easy flat one (5k) called the Paradise Valley walk. It loops around near the town of Camacha.

I was with a great group and I had a super time. I've got my confidence back and feel ready to tackle something more ambitious - well maybe not this afternoon.

My photo doesn't show the beauty of this area, except in a poignant way. This June they had terrible fires near Camacha. Fires (most of them inexplicably deliberate) have happened on the mainland and in La Gomera in the Canaries too.

In this fire, Huge swathes of the forest and 45 homes were destroyed and you can see the dramatic devastation on this walk. It got horribly close to the town centre but, as ever, the people of Madeira rallied together to fight their disaster. Luckily there was no loss of life but there was dreadful damage done.

It isn't until you nearly have something taken away that you start to appreciate what is really important.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.