Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Painted

A snatched shot early this morning on the way to somewhere else, but I'd promised myself a salt water blip today and here it is..

Why 'painted'? Well, of course it's hard not to reference Coleridge's Ancient Mariner and his '..painted ship upon a painted ocean' (erm.. though I don't remember him mentioning immature swans), but most of all the rippled reflections in this reminded me of the Impressionists. They would have flashed loops of white paint across their canvasses just like this, I feel. So this is my homage to them.

Man, it was beautiful early, with the mist rising and the sun burning through in a great orange glow. I'm so glad I didn't lie in bed, though I can feel a siesta coming on this afternoon. Hope you're all having a wonderful Sunday, doing something nice and not stuck in traffic, desperate to get somewhere along with the rest of the world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.