The Lake of Menteith

What a stunning day.  Very cold with the areas where the sun didn't reach remaining thick with frost.

This morning I took Togbe back to Aberfoyle where he received a great welcome.  I made a brief stop to admire the view over the Lake of Menteith. The gate was padlocked so I just climbed over the fence where many people had climbed before me.  The water was still as could be and the reflection quite stunning.

M was telling me that 1979 was the last time a Bonspiel was held on the lake when it was frozen solid. I can remember walking over the ice to Inchmahome which is the largest island in the centre of the lake. Too many health and safety issues so I doubt if there will ever be a curling tournament held on the lake again even if it did freeze over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.