Turned out well

I had an email from The Barbican to say that my favourite mezzo, Cecilia Bartoli, has a bad cold and has had to cancel her concert. I booked the ticket eighteen months ago, and got a good price for a super hotel. It could have been a disaster.

My hotel bargain was non refundable and I'd lose lots on my train ticket. I decided to come anyway.

My hotel is very close to the Barbican so I looked what else was on. Fortunately, there was a returned ticket for the RSC production of "King Lear" with Antony Sher. Struck lucky.

I came down early enough to go to the odd but interesting exhibition "The Vulgar :Fashion Redefined".

I explored and found a lovely family run Italian restaurant just round the corner. I've already told them I'll be back with my friends when we come down to see Jonas Kaufmann in February..... As long as he stays healthy.

Have a good weekend, my friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.