Black Friday

It certainly was a Black Friday....but not of the shopping kind.

Today we laid Grandad to Rest. It was quite a difficult day which started off with Naughty Squidget laying in too long so we ended up leaving later than planned. We had to get from East Grinstead to Havant near Portsmouth for 10.45 and I was quite stressed on the journey as funerals just don't wait, but we actually got there at 10.30. Thank god.

Mr W was kind enough to drive me and waited at the local garden centre. It was sad that he couldnt be there but I did understand why seeing as it was my Ex husbands father who had died.

My children did me proud. They were so grown up and supportive. They felt the need to stay with me rather than their father but I gave them a shove and told them to go and be with their dad so when their Grandad arrived, they stood united as a family while I hid at the back. But once inside Samuel Squidget gave up his seat for Daughter Number 2's boyfriend and came and sat next to me. Bless him. 

It was a very fitting service for someone who had been in the Royal Navy all his life with a Bugler playing the Last Post. Gulp. 

I had to endure listening to the ex reading the eulogy but I think I was included as he mentioned our marital home and 'our' foster children but I didnt really like the bit where he said he was going to scatter his fathers ashes in a play ground because he knew his dad hated children, but thats his humour.

Then while outside and back with my Babies, 'he' came over and shook my hand. The poor children didnt know where to look or what to do but praised me for my bravery!!! Its odd when your children are praising you rather than you praising them. My god I love those guys. Daughter Number 1 even remembered I wanted to get a picture of them all next to the flowers so hung about until nearly everyone had gone so I could do just that. Is it uncouth to take pictures at a funeral??? Because we also did a few Selfies!!!! 

I then had to say my goodbyes to everyone as I wasn't staying for the wake and called Mr W to come and get me. Again, Samuel Squidget waiting with me so I wasnt left alone. They all then went off for their boozy afternoon, sending me random Selfies and texts.

I then went to Lewes with Mr W so he could leave flowers on his grandads grave as it was the anniversary of his death. I left him to catch a bus home while I went to work in Hastings.

Its been a very long and emotional day but I still feel so proud of my babies for how they all coped with such a difficult day. The day they buried their Grandfather and the first time time they had seen a civil interaction between both their parents in 7 years!

I love those Guys.

xXx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.