A Sasanach's Skye photos

By Sasanach

A world of single track roads

That is the north west highlands of Scotland. Most of the major roads are two lane or more but once you are off the main road it is a world of single track roads with passing places.
As a visitor you will find yourself endlessly reversing to allow the opposite travelling motor to pass. You may curse this situation or grasp it and understand that you must plan your road ahead.
Though I came from London many years ago, I have learnt to cope with these roads and now I love them and miss their character when I go away.
Just now, as you will note from the photograph, the heather is in bloom. The hillsides are awash with colour. Also there is a hint of the autumnal colours, smells, and that indefinable freshness that can be sensed in the air.
Yes, I truly love this season. I look forward to Spring; I enjoy the warmth of summer; yet still I look forward to autumn too.
I still try to enjoy every day, every moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.