To A Good Home

Out with the old, in with the new.

Though I've had issues with Apples, I decided that I would get a new one. And I did.

This is the old one.

Transfer to new laptop is complete.

I completed wiping and reinstalling OS X on the old one, so the last thing to do was to get a pic of it and list it on Craig's List (with full disclosure). Done.

Within a couple of hours of posting the listing, I already have several interested parties. Yeah!

This old one will probably be at a new home in just a couple of days.

Except for some minor tweaks to the keyboard, the new one looks exactly like the old one. I found a great deal on a nice last gen MacBook. I was going to spend a couple hundred upgrading the old one, but after the great deal, and selling the old one, the new one was only a little more then the upgrades to the old one. Yeah! I can not fault Macs too much, they hold their value like no other computer.

And the new one has Apple's standard warranty with the option to extend. This was a big factor in getting a new one as opposed to upgrading the old. I will probably extend the warranty this time, I've found that AppleCare extensions are much cheaper on eBay.

Having been bitten by flaky first gen Apple hardware already, I was happy to grab the final interation of the last gen MacBook in hopes that all the bugs will have been worked out.

Though the new MacBooks are pretty, they seem to be having 'issues' as all first gen hardware seems to have. So I'm glad I'll be sitting this one out. And I really would have missed Firewire, the new ones don't have it anymore. That's a stinker.

The new ones are darn pretty though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.