West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Photoshoot

Although Shanghai is warmer than Xi’an, it’s still way too cold for that dress! Despite the cold and gloomy weather I saw 4 couples on the Bund having wedding photos taken.

Shanghai is a city of contrasts. I’m staying on a typically Chinese street. It’s got lots of small restaurants, grocery shops and street stalls. At the end of the road is East Nanjing Street with department stores, western brand clothes shops, coffee shops and fast food. And 10 minutes walk away are the grand old buildings of the Bund.

I think the biggest change I’ve noticed between my previous trip to China 16 years ago and today is the number of western shops. I remember arriving in Hong Kong after spending 6 weeks in southern China and being slightly overawed because there were 7-11 shops selling food I recognised! Ok, on that trip I was mainly in rural areas but I went to a couple of big cities – Kunming and Chengdu – and I don’t remember seeing any McDonald’s. Now it seems like you’re never more than 5 minutes walk from a McDonald’s, KFC or Starbucks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.