Davy Richards Best Pics

By molly1971

Professional Photographer Required...?

Broke one of my golden rules today which is.. Never ever ask one of my taxi fares if I can take their photo. In this day and age this could cause me lots of problems
So let me start at the beginning....
Driving up the Lawnmarket today I thought I'd stop the taxi, get out and capture some daylight portraits. I spotted a crowd and realized someone must be showing the owls again which I've photographed a few times so I fought my way in to get a good pic. Before I go on I must explain something I was thinking the other night. I was thinking that I'm getting better at taking photos but if anyone was to ask me to do a family portrait or something like that then I would be out my depth as I still have tons to learn...back to the story..
As I was positioning myself for the next shot of the owl, I felt a tug on my jacket, I turned around and this man said, "Excuse me sir but would I be able to hire you"? He must've saw my fancy entry level camera and my professional demeanor and thought this guy will do...
Well.. my face developed one of these stupid embarrassing grins as I thought I was going to have to explain that I hadn't been doing photography long enough to take on work.. then I looked behind him and spotted his wife and baby and it dawned on me he wanted to hire me for the taxi!!!
So that was a perfect example of reading the situation wrong and to be honest I was a bit relieved.
In they jumped and we arrived at their hotel. I jumped out to help him with the buggy then an amazing thing happened.. with two hands his wife thrust this beautiful little baby in my arms which in turn made me laugh cause the wee girl was perfect and gave me a huge smile.
I told them she was beautiful and they congratulated me on knowing she's a girl cause most people get it wrong.
It was at this point when the mum took the little one off me that I knew I had to get a photo. I felt we had bonded... practically family by this stage so no harm done....i hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.