Village Christmas Lights

The sound of bells and horses' hooves clip clopping along the road, choir singing and the bustle of people walking past made for a festive atmosphere in the village this afternoon.

It was the village Christmas light switch on and there was a lovely buzz as I heard the sounds from my cottage. Once it got dark I took a wander into the square and saw pantomime dames, Father Christmas and his elves and a children's train. A local radio station was blasting jingles from the stage and the pubs and cafes were overflowing with regulars onto the pavement.

I took refuge in the tranquility of the village church and enjoyed reading about its history dating back 1,000 years, while looking at various Christmas trees decorated by different church groups.

Despite the festivities in the village I can't quite get into the Christmas mood just yet. Doesn't feel right until December!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.