Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

Out and about

Well today we managed to get our act together and went for a long coast walk. We started from La Playa de La Griega, near the town of Colunga and walked from there via the hamlet of Guerres/Huerres to the village of La Isla. Surprisingly there was nowhere to eat in the village, much of which is summer homes nowadays, although the village retains much of its original rusticity, so we had to walk a bit further to find a resaurant.

The weather was perfect. Sunshine all day and barely any wind, unlike the south of Spain and the Med which been inundated in places today.

Our first course was chickpeas with shellfish. Including half a crab and a langoustine. The crab was cooked with the chickpeas so there wasn't much pf anything left inside, but the chickpeas were delicious. I did wonder if there might be some meat left in the claw, but we had no nut-cracker. So I tried squeezing it hard between my fingers to see whether I could crack it. I succeeded. The claw exploded in the direction of my face, showering me with crab-meat. Can't take me anywhere!

More photos here and the route, on WIkiloc, here.

This is Asturias' Jurassic Coast. There are dinosour footprints in plain view in the rocks lining the beach and a nearby Jurassic Museum which is well worth a visit. The only dinosaur artefact we saw today hoewever was a model dinosaur that has been installed in the middle of the roundabout as you enter Colunga.

This was also my first opportunity to try out my Pentax K-70 with its new 55-300mm lens. I didn't have the luxury of spending much time to get each shot right as it would be unfair to M to keep pausing for long, and we were also conscious that it's getting dark quite early.

All in all a good day and looking forward to the next walk. Let's hope the weather grants as another fine weekend before too long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.