The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Beef with the beef

After doing some more research in to where the locals eat, I found a place selling some kind of Cambodian version of bread and barbecued beef. It wasn't clear where it was and I took a wrong turning down a side alley before quickly realising it wasn't right. Back on the main road, I found the sign but the stall had no customers which was confusing. I bought it and as I was leaving, I realised there was a second version of the exact same dish next door which was the popular one!

This happens quite often in South East Asia; someone will set up a rival business next door to try to trick people. This is the first time I've ever fallen for it. In the photo you can see the red sign on the left (which I saw first as I was walking from that side) and the original vendor is the one with the blue sign. Both are selling "Bánh mì bò nướng bơ Cambodia". I then went to the original one which had a constant stream of customers and was significantly tastier.

Also note the kid doing the "Mobot"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.