Memories!

While standing in the post office this morning I noticed this calendar (most definitely not my type) and it brought back memories of my student days.

When I was a student I always had a Christmas job with the post office -  out in all weathers with a post bag over my shoulder.  
The first year my route took me along Rutherglen Main Street where the accommodation was all in old four storey tenement flats. The lighting was terrible and the letter boxes were small and down almost at ground level.  No junk mail in those days but there were plenty of calendars like the one above in my bag. Most of the occupants were out and the very stiff cardboard calendar just wouldn't go through the letter box .... all I could do was take them back to the sorting office and try again another day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.