Dobson Agency Photo Diary

By dobsonagency

Southern Hawker Dragonfly

I stopped for a little walk in the woods in North Yorkshire on the way back from doing a photoshoot in Hartlepool.

After a little research on the web it appears that this could be a Southern Hawker Dragonfly.

I'm glad I took my trusty Fuji X10 as I noticed a large Dragonfly flying past. I love the clattering sound of their wings as they fly past you.

It was a very inquisitive creature indeed, I was expecting it to suddenly disappear once I started taking photos of it, but far from it, it kept on flying around and sometimes coming very close, it seemed as though it was trying to get a closer look at what I was doing. Or maybe it was enjoying the attention I was giving it, who knows.

I tried to get some shots of it flying past, but I think I would have been better off using my other camera for that. Didn't quite work unfortunately.

Eventually it landed on some Hogweed long enough for me to get some nice close up shots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.