Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Heron

Last night a huge windstorm came thru about 9PM…(fortunately the kids were gone.but driving home in horrible rainstorm.)    the lights flickered and we had time to fill some water jugs and find our headlamps and off went the power.    Nothing to do but go to bed… but amazingly it came back on after 12, waking us up!     Grateful we didn’t have to get out a generator to make coffee this am. :-)   We thought we better walk the trails to see if any trees were down… only a few small branches…we’re wondering if we made the whole thing up.   We’re worn out.   Tried to take it easy today but I’m making an effort to finish my Blurb book by tomorrow night as there is a 50% coupon. doing it by Booksmart this time to see if it works better than through lightroom.   Not sure if I’ll make it or not.  Of course I needed to take a nap.

Saw an eagle fishing several times but when I went down to the beach I only saw this great blue heron.   (there’s really only 1) I do hope this isn’t the mate of the heron still hanging on the electric pole (see yesterday).  Herons don’t necessarily mate for life—they may have a different partner every year actually.  I have never found their nest near here.  This is looking west toward Saltspring Is. a much more decent day than yesterday..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.