Our local Big Tree

I haven't been far afield today - not feeling very energetic. I wandered up Benvoullin Gardens, just opposite our house, and photographed this beautiful Giant Redwood, Sequoiadendron giganteum, an amazing tree from the western slopes of the Sierra Nevada in California. Apparently the tallest on record is 311ft - fairly big! I was astounded to read today that they are now considered endangered in the wild - numbers are decreasing. How many more things will we ruin before we're finished. Just about the only thing not endangered is the human race!

I'm not sure about the height of this specimen - I shall have to try to estimate it some day. It's in the grounds of what used to be the County Hospital, now full of large houses. All the trees in the grounds are supposedly protected by Tree Preservation Orders, but local gossip says that several have already been cut down without permission.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.