Bus Challenge No 113!!

Big Ben, Westminster Bridge, London - From the back of a No11 Boris Bus!

A stunning frosty morning, not a cloud in the sky all day, but oh so cold... Bit of a nightmare start to the journey but things improved...

Heavy morning rush hour traffic into Bristol meant a stressful drive, arriving at the Park and Ride with only a few minutes to spare. But... There was no sign of the bus! It eventually arrived 23 minutes late which meant it arrived in the city centre very late and I had to run to the bus station, arriving only 2 minutes before the coach left! By this time the coach was nearly full so no window seat and worst of all, no heating for the entire journey! It was so cold, everyone kept their coats, scarves and even hats and gloves on for the entire journey to London!!

But once in London my luck changed... Got straight onto a bus which took me all the way to Liverpool Street Station, and, despite a diversion due to a burst water main on The Strand, I arrived ten minutes quicker than timetabled. From the back of my Boris bus, I got to enjoy a scenic tour of London, albeit backwards!

As I'd arrived at Liverpool Street earlier than expected, a very kind lady changed my ticket for me so I could catch an earlier train to Cambridge, where I changed onto a second train to Ely where the floodlit cathedral and M were waiting for me...

Total journey time door to door = 9 hours (though that does include a quick visit to Tesco for a bottle of bubbles!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.