Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Transfer Day

Well the day came around quickly.  Mom left the home about to close down and travelled about 4 miles up the road to a new home.  It was all rather overwhelming for her.  When I left her she was struggling to stay awake.  Despite living in one room it took two separate trips in my car, while a taxi was used for her to be transported by wheelchair.  

I wanted to capture the moment, but had reluctant subjects.  Mom has never like having her photo taken so I partly hid behind her carer to take this out of focus image.  Holly, the carer also didn't want her photo taken despite being a very attractive young lady.  There were lots of tears and hugs as she left her home of the last two years; I do hope she settles in at the new home.  It seems vibrant and caring, but I also know that Mom tends to struggle in company, mainly due to her failing hearing and eyesight.  She finds it difficult to converse in areas with lots of people speaking, or other noises.  I'm sure it is one of the reasons why she prefers her own company in her room.

Time will tell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.