Copenhagen and Me.

By RtCph

Henrik & Hemmingway

Henrik is a portrait photographer with a studio two blocks away, so I popped in for a chat and any advice he might be able to give me. We had a great conversation about portraiture that was more about philosophy and psychology than photography. 

He has this Hemmingway quote hanging by his desk.
"All you have to do is write one true sentence. Write the truest sentence that you know.” So finally I would write one true sentence, and then go on from there. It was easy then because there was always one true sentence that I knew or had seen or had heard someone say. If I started to write elaborately, or like someone introducing or presenting something, I found that I could cut that scrollwork or ornament out and throw it away and start with the first true simple declarative sentence I had written."


This is how he approaches his portraits. They're rather good - his website (if you care to look).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.