"On the first day of Advent..."

"...a good friend gave to me, a pop-up Advent calendar."

Dear Diary,

Just before Thanksgiving a large flat package arrived in the mail and much to my delight it was a very unique Advent calendar..a pop-up one with an avian theme.  I have never seen anything like it and I put the first bird on the branches this morning with little lamb from my nativity set looking on.

I use to make pop-up books with my students back in the day.  I have always loved books that moved or that have interactive components.  It will be great fun to watch the tree fill up with little birds this month.  It has a place of honor in my sitting room and I even added a light so it is illuminated at night!

Friends and family are what the holidays are all about and although most of mine are far away we can keep in touch through the internet...such a wonderful invention.  One is never really "alone" anymore.  Thanks to my Blipfoto friend Connections for this thoughtful and lovely gift!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.