mef13

By mef13

Oyster Time

Special treat for today with a handful of fresh oysters from the fish counter at the local supermarket.
It's not quite the same as sitting outside at restaurant or bar in a Mediterranean port, but I still get a pleasure from them.
I cannot remember when I developed a taste for the delicacy and over the years I have never lost the taste for them.
On occasions of working trips to London, I invariably made my way to one of the oyster bars just off Piccadilly before heading back to the train home. And then there was the time we were invited on a cross-Channel ferry voyage by the ferry company. The car deck had been turned into a huge help yourself buffet, and to give a flavour of what you might find in Normandy there was the traditional oyster man on board.  Queues for the buffet were quite long, so lunch for me was a few oysters.
Maybe my catch from Waitrose today does not have quite the same allure. But the flavour of the oysters?   Yum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.