Travel east

I've been in a fair few government buildings in my various jobs over the years but today was my first time in Saughton House. Its often mistaken for Saughton prison, well because it looks a bit like a prison with wings off a central spur. It was apparently build as an emergency hospital during the war but used as a government office since the 1950s.

Colleagues told me that it is the place civil servants go for assessments, interviews, training and promotion boards. So not always a place people skip with happiness into.

Happily for me, there's a tram stop right next door so I took my first tram ride in Edinburgh at last. Very fast and efficient, with a reassuringly nostalgic 'ding ding'.

None of that though was as interesting as the amazing light in Edinburgh in the late afternoon, captured here at Haymarket station.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.