Highlights on Haymarket

The low winter sun was reflecting off the building opposite, casting warm highlights in ethereal shapes on Haymarket station.

I stayed in Glasgow last night after the Entrepreneurial Scotland dinner, and I had a meeting there this morning.  I chose the wrong train to get back.

About 30 minutes into the journey, there was a loud bang, and the whole train shuddered as debris bounced along underneath and hit the sides. We later found out the train hit and killed a person.  I feel bad for the person, but probably worse for the train driver, and the rest of the train crew and emergency services who had to deal with the aftermath.

It took more than 90 minutes to get us moving again, by which time I had missed my lunch meeting in Edinburgh, and I spent the rest of the day playing catch-up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.