Life is like a river

By Gunnlaug

Friday in Reykjavík

After sleeping in and having breakfast, Kári and I decided to go for a walk since the weather was really nice and we had some time to kill before going to the cottage with my brother Jóhann and his girlfriend Arna Dögg (they have kindly let us stay while we're in Reykjavík).

We walked to Tjörnin and Ráðhúsið (after browsing Bóksala stúdenta, one of the best bookshops in town) and then we walked around the center part of Reykjavík; Lækjargata, Austurstræti, Ingólfstorg, Hafnarstræti, Austurvöllur... and other old charming streets of our capital.

This is where I found Kári on the 5th floor of the library in Hafnarstræti. I had gone to the 6th floor to take a look at the photography exhibition "Kona / Woman" by Berglind Björnsdóttir and he decided to go find something to read. College mathematics and algebra seems to have been the most interesting choice!

After some afternoon refreshments (coffee and a chocolate muffin at the Muffin Bakery) we walked back to my brothers house in the western part of town. He had just come home after work and when he and Arna Dögg had finished packing their bags we began our road trip to Hella, in the southern part of Iceland.

I'm going to spend the last week of my summer holidays with Kári and my parents in a lovely cottage near Hella. We'll enjoy the company of Jóhann and Arna Dögg and other guests during the weekend.

The first guests were my brother Bjössi and my niece Tanja Rut, and they had already arrived when we finally made it there for a late-night dinner :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.