Golden Fields and Forests

The light in the late afternoon was beautiful, so had to stop the car again to take this shot before the sun disappeared.

A very frustrating day in parts, which followed on from something that happened yesterday.  I was driving home from Dunkeld when my car started to make a strange whining sound, especially when I went round sharp corners (of which there are many on that road).  We eventually decided it was coming from the steering column, but had no idea what it could be.

I rang my garage this morning and was initially told it sounded like loss of hydraulic fluid from the power steering and not to drive it very far.  However they could not fix it until 15 December.  Unhappy with this delay, I rang another Hyundai garage who said it couldn't be loss of fluid because my car has EPS (Electric Power Steering) and there is no fluid!!
It should be safe to drive for a while unless the noise gets much worse. 

So I drove to my usual garage in Dundee to point this out to them and they sent out a senior engineer with me to listen out for the noise.  Of course, the noise was nothing like as bad as yesterday because the roads are mostly straight!  However, he agreed that it should be safe to drive unless there is a major escalation in the whine, so it is now booked in for 15th.  Just as well I'd got a second opinion:-)

The good news, if there is any in a situation like that, is that the car is covered by a 5-year warranty, which expires in January next year, so any work will be done free!!

As if that wasn't enough for one day, we've been having trouble with our digibox and thought it might have to be replaced before Christmas, although it wasn't that old.  When I checked, it still had 6 months left on the 2 year warranty with the lovely John Lewis (anywhere else and it would only have been one year!)  However, we decided to have a play around with the wiring and cables connecting it to various devices and TJ worked some magic and fixed it:-)  So we should be able to record all those competing shows that are on over the festive period.

I'm just wondering what other technical problems we might have to make it three in a row:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.