History.....

Every day this week I have walked past this series of wonderful carved wall plaques in our Edinburgh Royal Infirmary. Created as a art installation which reads as memoirs of a bye gone era, it reminds me of my early training days as a nurse in a very old London teaching hospital with a wealth of history behind it. 

The RIE is a new build which moved from a very historic building with black and white floor tiles in the corridors and big, old Nightingale wards. One of the plaques reads ' History comes out of the walls' and another [ my favourite actually ] says ' Will the ghosts move too?' 
I hope to get the chance to show them to mum when she's well enough as she will love them too , reminiscent as they are of her training days in the 40's.

I'm sorry for my lack of comments on everyone else's blips - just about keeping pace with my own blips with mum being unwell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.