Fun with bus stations

I came back to Guilin today via Yangshuo. When I was last in China I visited Yangshuo. I remember it as a tiny town of a few streets along the river. I’d read that it had changed a lot and for the worse since then. That’s why I went to Xingping instead. (My guidebook described Xingping as ‘Yangshuo 15 years ago’.) But I was curious to see it and it’s only a 50 minute bus journey from Xingping.

I didn’t recognise it. It’s grown so much that it now has 2 bus stations, neither of which is the one on the map in my guidebook. I arrived at one and needed to leave from the second and since I don’t have my phone, I don’t have GPS to show me where I am (and no handy tourist information at the bus station unfortunately). This meant I had to rely on asking people for directions which is always a lottery. I don’t know if they have understood what I’m asking for and I don’t understand the reply. All I can understand is the vague waving in one direction. So I’ve definitely walked the further today while carrying my heavy bag than any other time on this trip so far. I got to the main/original streets and found lots of shops and bars. The views of the river are mostly blocked by stalls selling souvenirs. I spent about 3 hours in Yangshuo but 2.5 of those was trying to find my way from one bus station to the centre and then find the other bus station to leave!


Back in Guilin I went to the Sun and Moon Pagodas just before sunset. They are connected by an underwater walkway but unfortunately you can't see the water or fish. This is the Moon Pagoda taken from the Sun Pagoda. An experiment in active-d lighting which I’ve never used before. I quite like it. The extra is of lights along the lake as I walked back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.