Abstract

We were on our way home, the sky had lightened up, the sun was just coming over the horizon in a big orange ball, & I was playing with the camera. I liked how this one turned out, as to me, it almost looks like water. The darker parts of the sky are clouds, the black are the trees as we drove past, & you can just see the bit of orange sun coming up in the lower right corner.
We stopped for breakfast about 0830 & then I drove. Tom's speedometer is off by 2 mph, so the speed limit was 70 & I had the cruise control set at 78, which in reality meant I was going 76 & darned if I didn't suddenly see red lights flashing in the rear view mirror as we were going through Missouri. I got stopped for speeding for a crummy 6 miles over the speed limit!  So the (very pleasant) officer comes up and asks me if I knew how fast I was going & I told him I had the cruise set for 76 (which was the speed we were actually going). He said yes, that's what he'd clocked me at. Then he asked where in Wi. we were from, responded that he knew exactly where that was as he'd been "up in that area" to go fishing out on Lake Michigan, commented that the Packers weren't doing too well this year, so we chatted a bit about that. Then he asked for my driver's license & went back to his car for a few minutes, then came back, gave me my license back & told me it had been nice chatting with us, to slow down a bit and have a nice day! No ticket, yay!! I think he was bored, saw we were from out of state, and decided to chat a bit--OK by me, as at least I didn't get a ticket! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.