A winter meeting

I met the man at midnight in the trees and moonlight. Our footprints converging in the snow. At first, I took him for a keeper and felt an icy hand clutching at my neck - two birds hanging from my belt. But he was too well-dressed to be an estate man. Too well-dressed to be in those frozen woods at all. His coat was well-cut but not warm and his fine shoes were muddy and wet. He shivered as he stood. I wished him a good evening and he responded in kind in the accent of another country. Thinking of his frozen feet, I offered him hot food and dry lodging but, thanking me, he said that he had a long way to go that night. We nodded to one another and went our separate ways. Each walking in the other's footprints.

An Advent calendar made of old Christmas cards

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.