Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

On the way...

The toy cab that provided the base for the little Commer QX lll  is at the stage where I can paint it and get a reasonable finish.  I've reglazed it with flush fitting screens, put in real headlamp shapes and cleaned up the fluted grille ready for the new decals.

Time to start on a chassis.  I have a few chassis spares off other projects but none turned out to be suitable so I've fabricated a new one from plastic strip.  Scratch built a petrol and air tank and made a template over which to plug the cab.  A tool box, spare wheel and exhaust have also been added.

I normally use plastic wheels but I acquired some metal types that have much better detail so I'm trying them out.  What you see here is probably 25% of the finished article.  There'll be a lot of loose assembly over the next few days to ensure when it's all built up it'll look right.  There are many things to consider, for example on the real thing the front wheel centre is in line with the front bumper and the height from the top of the tyre to the wheel arch is proportionate.  Get these basic things wrong and the final model will never look right.

Who said it was easy?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.