horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

The joy of anti-sociability

I've got a pair of socks which have stitched into the sole the motto, "I'm not anti-social, I'm pro-solitude." I didn't buy the socks because of this motto, indeed I didn't even know it was there until they were delivered, but it sums up my approach to life perfectly. Y'know those parties where one person just kinda hangs around in the corner, somewhere near the fridge so he can get another beer more easily? I applaud that guy's sociability, given I'll likely be at home rather than the party at all.

Always been like that, always will, and it's probably the reason I like coming to the wilds as much as I do. If I see a dozen people on the same walk it feels crowded... Today, save for a couple of guys descending from our target a little before we got there, and some training RAF mountain rescue folk (complete with occasional Sea King flyby), we had the hills to ourselves, culminating in lunch overlooking this stunning corry loch.

Beautiful day to be out, hardly a breath of wind, perfect blue sky, revelling in the expanse.

Tired limbs have been refreshed with a peaty bath and whisky, bread about to be made for rolls tomorrow, dinner and a glass of red.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.