And the street is singing with my feet

We did it!

Left Geneva saturday afternoon, met up with the team, drove to Lyon to pick up the dossard and then on to Saint-Étienne for a few hours before the start. Departs were in waves from 23.40 onwards, We finally managed tpoget going at 12.10.
There were 5 of us aiming to run the whole 72km and 3 doing it as a relay. Unfortunately Nico had problme with his ankle, but otherwise we all made it. 
Was a little cold at the start and up in the mountains. Was also icey any very muddy in parts but I only fell over twice,
We arrived in Lyon at 11 this morning, quite a long way behind the leaders, but they probably ran up the climbs when we walked, Very emotional feelings at finish  - was not sure I would make it at all !


Photo is of the finish line inside the Expo centre. 
Extra is of me and Pierre and Guillaume relaxing before the start yesterday evening. 
More photos when I get them.  But when I look up this page in the future I would also like to remember Guy, Steph, Perrine, Damien. And Antisia who drove and encouraged us over the last 5k


Probably the hardest thing I have ever done in my life so feeling quite proud.
Now 9pm on Sunday night, haven't slept since Saturday morning but feeling fine.
Title is lyric from this song by Elbow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.