Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

Candás

Went along the coast to Candás for lunch out with M and her Mum.
Before lunch we briefly popped into this building, having seen a sign saying that there was a  'mercadillo' taking place. It turned out to be an event organised by a Western Sahara support group and there were various homemade cakes etc. on sale. There's a long tradition in Spain of voluntary groups hosting children from Western Sahara, to give them a holiday.

The buiding itself is the 'Casa de Cultura' which is housed in what was an old fish canning factory. It is intended to house a mixture of exhibitions and cultural events. I don't think it's finished yet but I do like the portraits of local people with which the walls are lined. I hope this is a permanent feature and that I'll be able to return spend more time viewing them. I particularly liked the pair of portraits of a couple of local women (see extras). Being historically a fishing port, with an important preserving industry, it reminded me of the faces of the locals carved into the retablo in my Fishmarket blip from a few years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.