Glad I Don't Do It Anymore

As I was clearing out my 'come in handy basket' in the dining room I came across a small pen holder which I received after completing the Marazion Memorial Run in 2010.

At fifty-seven I persuaded myself that a run on the sand from Marazion Yacht Club along the beach to Newlyn and back in aid of the Poppy Appeal would be a good idea.

I had run regularly up until then but had forgotten how hard sand running is, there were also time constraints as you had to finish before the tide cut you off.

I recall it being sparsely attended, (apparently if you run it once you never go back), bitterly cold and really hard going. I didn't come first but I didn't come last and the sense of achievement at completing a little under three hours continuous running remains with me still.

Would I do it again, possibly but only after prolonged preparation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.