Changing_Lives

By HowToVolunteer

Never Underestimate the power of a child's mind!

Today upon reading the story of the Rainbow Fish with the children I invited the children to the top of the classroom to sit with me on the floor for a chat about the Read Aloud and the themes coming from this text. During the discussions, the children recalled the happenings of the text, shared their thoughts of the author's style when the lesson took a sudden turn. 

There is a EAL (English as an Additional Language) learner in the classroom, who raised her hand to share her response to the teacher posed question 'What did the story of the ‘Rainbow Fish’ teach us about friendships?'. This child, whose expressive English is extremely limited in addition to a low level of self-esteem, asked me if she could show me her response. If I am honest, previously I may have rejected this preposition, adhering to the lesson plan like a document written in stone, but knowing this child and reflecting the atmosphere of this circle time, she progressed to the sink to show us her response. This child came back with a paint brush holder with water, using the ripples her fingers made to symbolise the consequences every good or bad action has on other people.  Although at first I was baffled and failed to comprehend the AMAZING metaphor this child had created, the children in the classroom then went on to explain and elaborate on this idea: linking the rules of the classroom, namely ‘Raise your hand to share your thoughts’ and the knock-on effects it is when we adhere to this rule. 


I would have always held pride in the creativity I put into my lesson planning, however never in a million years would I have thought to use this metaphor in the classroom and yet, with the correct atmosphere not only can my lessons be executed, but the children can steer these lessons and peer tutor. 


A simple drop can create an endless ripple! 


Listen to the children in the classroom because their drops can be as effective and in many cases more powerful than our own! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.