Winter is Coming!

Woke to a wonderfully white, frosty, misty morning. The view towards Ives Head out of the bedroom window was quite stunning. Sadly, I couldn't capture it with the lens. It just didn't come out right.

I should have gone up to Beacon Hill there and then to see the frosty recessions over the landscape, but Basil had to go for his injections. By the time we got back home, the temperature had risen above freezing, the frost had virtually gone, and the mist was clearing.

We did stump up to Beacon Hill for the views and for Basil to have a run around. It's the first time I've been able to take him for a walk since returning from Morocco, but the pain in my knee is still very noticeable and I was moving gingerly afraid of falling over and making the pain worse.

I've made an appointment with a physiotherapist for Wednesday in the hope that she can perhaps massage it and offer advice for knee care.

I trundled Basil off to Stacey's grooming parlour in the afternoon. Stacey looked after Basil in College Garth Kennels when he was first brought in by the dog warden and gave him a super haircut just before I collected him. I like to support her as she works hard and does a great deal for the rescue kennels.

Instead of going home to wait for the summons to collect Basil, I popped into Oakley Grange Cafe where I had a long chat with Inger over a large latte and a piece of hazelnut meringue cake. She tells me that my large canvases are being much admired and people have bought cards, particularly the snowy scenes.

At 5.30 pm, it was time to leave and I went back to the kennels where Stacey was putting the finishing touches to Basil. He'd been quiet-ish up to them but started whingeing when I entered.

Neo, Stacey's little boy, was having a rest in his pushchair.

This view looking east towards the Soar Valley from Beacon Hill reveals how the final traces of Autumn are slipping away, with dried up bracken and a few oaks still bearing brown leaves. Also Basil.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.