Caen Hill (Monday 5th December 2016)

I called in at Caen Hill yesterday, parking at the bottom of the lock flight in Marsh Lane and walked up to the Caen Hill Café, with the intention of buying coffee and cake at the top. It was not to be because as I paused to look at the swans at the lock just below the café at half-past three, they took the sign in, shut the door and turned the Open sign around. I think they saw me coming.

As you can see from the Extra, the cygnet is doing fine with its parents, but I thought for a change I would blip this forlorn grey heron, photographed on my way back down the hill as it grew dark. He'd been at the same spot on the way up although he was now facing the other way, and seemed too intent on the serious business of finding supper to worry about me.

L.
6.12.2016 (2110 hr)

Blip #1989 (#2239 including 250 archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #010
Day #2447 (460 gaps from 26 March 2010)
LOTD #1224 (#1350 including 126 on archived blips)

Herons series
Caen Hill series
Canals series
Kennet and Avon Canal series

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Red) and Pentax HD P-DA 55-300mm F4-5.8 ED WR lens

A Visit To Caen Hill Locks, 5 December 2016 (Flickr album)

Lozarhythm of the Day:
Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band - Peon (recorded May 1970, Hollywood CA)
Composed by Don Van Vliet (aka Captain Beefhgeart) on piano and transposed to guitar by Bill Harkleroad (aka Zoot Horn Rollo) with Mark Boston (aka Rockette Morton) on bass guitar, this was included on Lick My Decals Off, Baby. I played that album and Clear Spot during this day.

One year ago:
The Old Forge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.