Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Very Lucky Day!

My woodworkers club meeting this month was our annual Christmas party. Spouses were invited and Cynthia accompanied me.

The Bring and Brag challenge this month was to make a suitable wooden decoration. About a dozen members participated. I, of course, took my reindeer herd. Our names were put in a hat and one was drawn for a prize -- mine! It was a $50 gift card for Lee Valley, maker of fine woodworking tools.

There was also a fundraising raffle to benefit the Toys for Tots program. The more than 50 items up for grabs were donated by club members and various merchants. Each item had its individual receptacle in which you could deposit your ticket stub(s). I bought $20 worth of tickets and gave some to Cynthia. I plunked mine down for a $300 Lee Valley gift card, and a walnut and a maple slab.

When the number was drawn for the $300 gift card, no one claimed it. Same thing for the second attempt. I was holding my breath on the third try, and could hardly believe it when I won!

Believe it or not, I also won the two pieces of wood!

I'm not usually that lucky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.