Tractor Factory Photos

By TractorFactoryPhotos

Stacked...

I'm at the glueing stage of my new project.

The stepped glueing pattern has 3 purposes.

1)  I'm after the pattern that the ply will show when it's eventually whittled down.  It'll look fly.  I say eventually as it did seriously take about 1 and a half years to do it last time before I got properly tooled up.

2) I didn't manage to get too many evenly flat pieces out of the board from which the wood was cut so needed a bit more length than could be garnered from a vertical stack.  Additionally, I can get the full stack and thus length into my wee vice which I couldn't with a comparable height of vertical stack.

3)  I'm hoping that with the eventual wooden banding going round the length at an angle rather than perpendicular to the length, it will be structurally stronger as the stress is put in the perpendicular direction.  I'm currently road testing this theory with a pinky ring done in a similar manner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.