Snyder Hall

When I begin teaching at Oakland High in January, I will be teaching Writing 121 and 122 for the Oakland seniors through Umpqua Community College. Today, I met with their writing leaders at the college. Their offices were mere feet from where the mass shooting took place a little over a year ago. I have documented my history in Snyder Hall, the location of where I decided to pursue a career in teaching and literature and composition. And now that building no longer stands, with the exception of these signs. 

Here's what I noticed about those professionals I spoke with, and those students who passed these grounds today: I observed that they have moved on with life as they live it, but I don't know how in God's name they could ever be the same...knowing the horror that took place on these beautiful grounds. 

My life changed here well over 30 years ago. My hope is that others will still see this as a place of learning, not some place with a horribly sad past. I should have more to say about this place than this, but the words aren't here right now. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.