Latitude Living

By QueSeraSara

Heaven Help Me

We took our bicycles out today for an initial ride. Even though I'm overweight and out-of-shape, even though it's been 25 years since I've seriously ridden a bike, I was still dumbfounded that I got winded climbing tiny hills and that my leg muscles became sore pumping only a short distance. I was foolish to think my body would magically go back to the days when I was a 20-year-old cyclist who could do 100-mile touring days and still play a couple games of volleyball in the evening. Tomorrow we're going riding again. In fact, we hope to ride every day. This may be the death of me. Lucy, our Maltese, on the other hand, was already in heaven on her first ride.

"It's the lack of faith that makes people afraid of meeting challenges, and I believe in myself."
~ Muhammad Ali

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.