Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Tension

Yesterday there were enough hours in the day to complete my homework. Today there were barely enough to string it up and take a snap.

The homework set on Friday was to fit my satin and canvas base complete with pattern pinned to it into the disassembled frame and I have to say I am happy with the result. It all seems to be evenly tensioned without any puckering.

The bit that had been done in the classroom was deciding which of Maria's lovely floral sketches I would like to use and approximately what size I would like the finished article. The sketch was then pinned to the satin and canvas. The satin was then cut out and then the canvas was cut out. Antigone nipped home to sew the two together on her sewing machine.

Personally, I think I would have done it all slightly differently but when I thought about it afterwards I realised that the method adopted has probably been handed down from mother to daughter from long before literacy or numeracy or tape measures were commonplace. I am not suggesting for a single moment that I think Antigone or Maria aren't properly educated, but it is highly likely that their great grandmothers weren't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.