Honeycreeper

When we were at the bird sanctuary near where we are stay, we met a lady who told us where to go for find some native Hawaiian Birds. So hubby tagged along the 1 hour drive to the other side of the Island. I am so glad she told us where to look for these beautiful red birds with the long curved beak. The moved very quickly in and out of the tree that I missed most of the possible photos; I was so grateful that this one was okay.  The park was at about 7000 feet in elevation so it was a bit chilly and VERY peaceful except for the chirping of thousands of birds. I could hear so many different birds but had trouble spotting them; I could even feel them fly behind me but they would disappear. I only got photos of two birds.....but the Honeycreeper was the one I REALLY wanted to see, so I am very happy.  I don't know what the Extra bird is. Not the best shot.
Hubby was happy because we passed a Costco Store on the way back from the Haleakala; he stocked up on needed groceries like fresh spinach, fish, fruit, eggs, milk and hot -just -made wheat bread loaves. 

Thanks for following me on my vacation. I was surprised to get the hearts for the canoe photo.....thanks. AND the turtle is sitting on page 1 of popular thanks to you! I still get excited to see all those hearts. I guess I kind of need the encouragement. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.