A fisherman's tale

Here is some real news for once. I was watching this fishing vessel, the Evening Star from Peterhead, as she came along the canal towards the Muirton Locks. Then, as she was passing the Caley Marina something obviously went wrong. The trim trawler started belching exhaust and proceeded to go round in a dainty wee circle.

'I'm stuck, I'm stuck,' you could hear the boat cry. 'You're scraping my bottom! You're scraping my bottom!'

It seems she was adhered to something on the canal floor, what we don't know. After more comical turning the captain was eventually able to release his vessel. Captain and crew were not laughing as they arrived at the mooring. I beat a hasty retreat as by this time I had the giggles.

Extra: Evening moon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.