vsohn

By vsohn

Waste management

I helped my friend to take his old washing machine to a waste sorting station. There are different piles of waste for everything, but the most interesting one was the mixed small electronic equipment, such as tvs, video recorders, printers etc. There was this Earth table lamp in the middle of all other waste. Needed not to say more, it was my picture of the day, Earth drowning into our waste. The subject of the picture felt a bit used, but there it is.

My mom was a teacher (retired now) and the waste management was or still is like a meaning of life to her. She tries to educate everyone about the recycling and make them understand that all the waste has to go somewhere. I have visited several times different recycling centers, dumps, water treatment plants etc. But admit that every time I was there with her new school class, the kids' eyes opened and they realized how much waste people produce and the reasons why it is important to recycle or sort your waste. If you have never seen a dump I recommend to visit one; it is actually a quite interesting place. It is not the same if you just watch WALL-E again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.