Hill Top Ramblings

By janepetleyjones

Gingerbread people

I had one of those days today. I got in to work and the gas wouldn't light in the cooker. Turned everything off and on again, it's all linked to the extractor fans. Still no good. John the handyman arrived, he turned everything off and on again, and checked that the cut off valves were open. Still no good.
I went to the office to ask them to phone the engineer, and as I was passing the front door, who should arrive but the CQC inspector. Everyone started scurrying around trying to please her, and I returned to my kitchen. Plan B for lunch, ham salad chip shop chips and rice pudding warmed in the micro wave.
What to do now? I marzipanned the Xmas cake and then iced it ready for the coffee morning next week. Then I got down my tub of gingerbread men, or 'people' as John very properly calls them. I think he has children at school where they are obviously very pc.
I gave some pink hair and green skirts and some green hair and pink skirts!
Lunch went down ok especially with the staff who ended up with a box of chips each.
Finally the engineer arrived and checked over the obvious, turned everything off and on again, then disappeared outside for a minute, came in and peered down the back of one of the counters, then went over and lit the gas. There was another tap we didn't know about which had got knocked!
Here is my gingerbread person recipe, it is the best one I have ever used!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.